Robin Williams

stfu-robin-williams-funny-pictureYesterday, August 11, the world lost an iconic man: Robin Williams.

I grew up watching him on screen. I gawked at the mysterious green blob created in Flubber. I laughed when Williams transformed into the infamous Mrs. Doubtfire. I returned to Neverland with when he rediscovered he was Peter Pan. I cried when he learned that his childhood was gone in Jumanji. He loved the forgotten in Awakenings. The list goes on and on.

Robin Williams brought a piece of himself to any role he played, always improvising and ad-libbing. Through these characters he impacted the lives of many people, showing both a comedic and a serious side to his acting. (And his performance in Mrs. Doubtfire will remain unrivaled.) 

MV5BMTk0NjY0Mzg5MF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNzM1OTM2MQ@@._V1_SX148_CR0,0,148,200_AL_patch_adams_1998-movie-posterjumanjimovie_26158dead-poets-society-midNight-at-the-Museum-Battle-of-the-Smithsonian-2009-Hindi-Dubbed-Movie-Watch-OnlineMrs_DoubtfireAwakenings6

I will always remember where I was when I learned about his death. It was one of those moments when I just sat back, speechless. I couldn’t believe he was gone. I still can’t. Robin Williams was that person who was always there, making you laugh. I would get on YouTube and watch his interviews to pass the time. He had a gift: making people laugh.

flubber_ver5MV5BNTI4ODQ1MzAzNV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMzU4NzMxMDE@._V1_SY200_CR1,0,148,200_AL_goodmorningvietnamonesheetc1bz1lkimgres-1imgresmanoftheyearmovieposterHookmovie

Awesome-Robin-Williams-quote

It’s sad that it took the death of Robin Williams to raise awareness about the dark reality of suicide and depression. For people struggling with depression, each day is a fight. Even through Robin Williams is gone, he fought a very hard battle. While he is gone, his life will continue to touch innumerable amounts of people.

I don’t have a lot to say other than “thank you for all the laughs.” And like the thousands of others, I will stand tall on my chair and proudly call out “Oh captain, my captain.” Forever remembered, rest in peace Robin Williams. images

 

I used to think the worst thing in life is to end up all alone. It’s not. The worst thing in life is to end up with people who make you feel all alone.  – Robin Williams 

 

Leave a Reply

