The day I finally met John Green

John Green. The name ignites alarms and puts girls under a spell. In the publishing sphere, it doesn’t get much better than him.

Young adult authors aspire to write the next “John Green” novel. During my NYU Publishing Institute, John Green came up many times. Some art directors bemoaned the fact that all their authors wanted their book covers to “look like that new John Green novel.” 

I’m ashamed to admit that I hadn’t read any of John Green’s book. I’ve heard plenty about him, watched his YouTube videos, and hyped up when his books came out. In fact, I bought up a signed copy of The Fault in our Stars from Target when it first came out. But I kept forgetting to bring the book to college or have it mailed to New York.

Sometime last week, I decided it was finally time to read The Fault in Our Stars. Before I knew it, the sun had set, I was surrounded by mounds of used tissues, and the last page glared up at me.

John Green has a beautiful way with words. As I’m sure everyone already knows, The Fault in Our Stars follows a young girl, Hazel, who suffers from terminal cancer. She lives a morose life, almost waiting to die. But then she meets Augustus Walters at her Support Group. He treats her like any imgresnormal girl, something she craves. But as a cancer survivor, he understands her in ways other boys can’t. It’s a beautiful love story about how far love can push us and what impact loved ones leave.

The ending caught me off guard. I won’t give away any spoilers (although I’m sure I was the last person to read the book). But just as quickly as Green weaved together this love story, he pulled it apart, ripped out my heart, and tossed it into the corner as I sat there unsure how to respond.

Okay, sometimes I can be a tad dramatic, but I do become emotionally attached to the characters in my books.

Honestly, I have nothing negative to say about this book. For one afternoon, Green swept me away to the world of Hazel and Augustus. And I never wanted it to end.

One Comment on “The day I finally met John Green

Leave a Reply

