Curiouser and Curiouser

I spent a month thalice03ais January studying Theater in London, England.  I visited the British Library where I saw the original, handwritten copy of Alice in Wonderland. After returning from England, I felt inspired to re-read the childhood classic.

But once I picked it up, I remembered how strange Alice in Wonderland really was. And Through the Looking Glass.

I grew up reliving Alice’s trip down the rabbit hole. But Through the Looking Glass was even stranger. Alice climbs through the mirror hanging above her fireplace, entering into an inverted world. She meets chess pieces that are alive and flowers that insult her. But even scarier than I’ll-mannered flowers are the Alice_par_John_Tenniel_02White and Red Queen.

The plot in Through the Looking Glass has even less a sense of rhythm than the original Alice in Wonderland. There is no rhyme or reason to where Alice goes or what happens to her. Out of curiosity (in true Alice fashion) I decided to re-watch Disney’s version of the novel. First, it combines elements from both stories and tries to string together a complete, linear series of events. But the movie still feels strange. But my childhood self willingly overlooked those oddities.

One thing about growing up is losing some of that childhood innocence and magic. I go back to things I cheriimagesshed and adored as a child, hoping to feel those same things again. But the problem is, you can’t. You now analyze things and put them into context, noticing themes and motifs you previously ignored. But that doesn’t have to be a bad thing. It provided a new perspective on something old. Each time you revisit elements from your childhood, you find a new angle to see things. This week, reflect on your favorite childhood book. What new story does it morph into?

Leave a Reply

