Eleanor and Park

imgresEleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell. I saw the name “Rainbow Rowell” everywhere when I was in New York. In fact, Rainbow Rowell promoted her new book, Landline, while I was living there this summer. (And yes, I can’t just call her Rainbow or Mrs. Rowell. It’s Rainbow Rowell.) But, admittedly, I didn’t understand what people were fussing about. Or exactly who she was.

When I returned to Nebraska, I looked her up and was SHOCKED. She resides in Omaha, Nebraska. In fact, she was born in Nebraska. Right where I live. And I hadn’t read anything of her’s before.

So I frantically raced to the store and picked up a copy of Eleanor & Park. To my surprise, it takes place in Omaha, NE. Not only was she a Nebraskan author, but she writes about Nebraska. In the book, Eleanor and Park walk around the Old Market and visit places I grew up with. I vividly pictured the two of them, walking downtown, hand-in-hand, along the mismatched brick road.

Eleanor & Park is a beautifully written novel about about a misfit love story. Eleanor’s not perfect. But neither is Park. That’s what makes their relationship so beautiful, and so different. 5581492

I’m going to warn you, the ending is what you’d expect. I didn’t love it, but I closed the book, sat back, and felt….. satisfied. Rainbow Rowell paints a beautiful world that revolves around Eleanor and Park. Her use of alternating points of views gives us a wider grasp on what each of them feels.

To my fellow Nebraska friends, I highly recommend this book, a story of a romance close to home. Or to my friends elsewhere, I recommend this as a magical love story.

So, I guess the next step is to meet Rainbow Rowell and find out how a fellow writer from Nebraska made it so big. You, Rainbow Rowell, give this Nebraskan girl hope. Now can I borrow some of your luck?

13 Comments on “Eleanor and Park”

  1. KATIE!! This is probably my favorite book by Rainbow Rowell. I adore Fangirl (since Cath is basically me when it comes to fandoms) but there is just something about Eleanor and Park. It’s beautiful and I’m so happy that you like it. And more power to you for being from Nebraska. haha. Even though I always make fun of my friend Liz about being from Nebraska. I’ll save you the scrutiny that is only reserved for her. haha.

    • Thank you Katie! I still haven’t read Landline – my list just keeps growing longer and longer and longer, no thanks to the program. Also, even though you live in New York right now, you ARE from Wisconsin, cheesehead. 😛 Don’t forget!

      • Of course I am. The only teams I will ever root for are the Badgers and the Packers. No one else matters or is of any importance. Wisco forever! 😀 And I basically make fun of my friend whose from Nebraska by saying that there’s nothing in Nebraska. haha.

  2. Oh and I also have yet to read Landline. It’s sitting on my shelf in my apartment. I also haven’t read her other book. I’ve forgotten what it’s called tho.

  3. Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative.
    I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future.

    Numerous people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  4. I’m very pleased to discover this website.
    I want to to thank you for ones time just for this
    fantastic read!! I definitely appreciated every bit of it and i
    also have you bookmarked to look at new stuff on your web site.

Leave a comment