And then she blah blah

taleboble

Words. When the right ones won’t come to me, I hate them. With a passion

blah blah: [interjection] used to substitute for actual words in contexts where they are felt to be tedious or lengthy to give in full (oxford dictionary)

When writer’s block has me deep in its clutches and rams me into a smoldering pool of molten lava, the words “blah blah” magically appear in the middle of my story.

Sally reached out towards the man in front of her, her only chance at survival, and uttered her last words: “Blah blah blah…” 

blah3max

It’s my way of avoiding. Sometimes my patience is running short and I just can’t get through a scene. “Blah blah” can be used as a nice substitution, just to get past that final hurdle.

So, when you don’t think you can go any further, blah blah blah…

4 Comments on “And then she blah blah

  1. Is it weird that I found “Sally reached out towards the man in front of her, her only chance at survival, and uttered her last words: “Blah blah blah…””? to be extremely funny? I mean, if I saw that written within that context of an actual book behind what seems to be a dramatic scene, I would be like “well, didn’t see that coming”. I would be thoroughly satisfied by the unexpectedness. haha. 😀

    • Ha ha. I like that you found it funny! Maybe I’ll have to stick that in something I write. I never thought of it that way, but it definitely relieves the tension of stressful moments. And I did know you love Seinfeld 😉

      • You should add it into something! It would be unexpected and the reader and whoever your character is talking to will be thrown. It would be very entertaining.

        Seinfeld is the bee’s knees. 😀

  2. This also immediately made me think of the episode of Seinfeld where Elaine started substituting “had sex with” with “yada yada yada”. It became so attached to her speech that she started glossing over the actual sexual act with “yada yada yada” and instead would put emphasis on something that was actually good. Like the cake that she happened to eat before sex. It’s hilarious. In case you didn’t know, I love Seinfeld.

Leave a Reply

